Colorado Parks & Wildlife
Colorado Parks & Wildlife is the state agency that regulates fish and wildlife. The local representative of the Division of Wildlife is known as a District Wildlife Manager. In addition to the customer service aspect of their job, the District Wildlife Manager also serves as a law enforcement officer; a Game Warden.
In Colorado most all species of wildlife are protected to some degree. Generally, a license is required to possess any wildlife in Colorado. In rural areas of the state hunting is an activity that traditionally occurs in the fall of the year. Most hunters are safe, considerate and ethical but, sometimes, there is a “bad apple” in the bunch.
Here are some of the specific laws hunters must abide by: Trespassing- a hunter is required to have the permission of the landowner to hunt on private property or to hunt within 600 feet of a dwelling. Shooting may not take place from or across a public road or from a motor vehicle. Hunting may only occur during legal hunting hours; usually 1/2 hour before sunrise till sunset. Bag limits, season dates and licensing requirements vary by species and year. It is unlawful to destroy a nest or den without a permit. It is against the law to feed deer, elk, bears and other big game animals. A license is required to transport or possess fish or to stock a private pond with any fish.
For any wildlife related questions you can contact the Colorado Parks & Wildlife at 303-291-7227 or your local District Wildlife Manager by calling the Colorado State Patrol at 303-239-4501.
To anonymously report a suspected poaching incident call Operation Game Thief at 1-800-332-4155 or 303-295-0164. Rewards are offered.